The delete functionality in the content manager operates like other delete functions in other applications and tools, for instance Windows explorer. Since its main function is to delete content the function is mainly used within the content explorer view, however, it can operate from any views in the content manager.
The delete function is only available to users with WRITE access to the content item or folder. The user access the delete function using the context menu of either the item or folder in the item listing or the folder in the folder tree (pink arrow below). This will immediately delete the item WITHOUT prompt. However, these deletes are "soft" deletes that can be restored by admins (see below).
Normal users can only soft delete items from the system. These items can then be restored by admins (see below). Admins, however, can also PURGE content or hard-delete an item (green arrow above), fully removing it from the repository. In this scenario, the deleted item CANNOT be restored by any user or admin without using a repository backup.
Restoring a Deleted Item
Admins can see all soft-deleted items in the content manager by clicking on the "view deletes" button (orange circle below). This will now show all deleted items in the listing and in the tree (green box and green arrows below).
Using the context menu for these items, admins will now see a new choice to "restore" the item (blue arrow below). This will "undelete" the item and allow all users to see it in the content manager as normal. The admins will also continue to see the "purge" option to fully delete the item from the system permanently (purple arrow below).