Present Runtime Settings

Runtime Settings From the Runtime Settings dialog, determine which actions will be available when the presentation is launched in runtime. These settings are applied at the presentation level, meaning they are applied to the entire presentation and all assets within it.

This is useful if there are actions that you want to disable due to privacy or governance, or to enhance the user experience for report viewers. For example, you may want to disable drill functions to stop users from drilling down into the data.

Runtime Settings Dialog

Open the Runtime Settings dialog from the Presentation ribbon.

Configuring Runtime Settings

You may select one of 3 presets, or you can manually enable and disable the required functions.

Full Selection: enables all runtime settings; you may disable required settings by deselecting their checkbox.

Light Selection: enables only drill, dice, quick sort, quick filter, pivot, and conversations; you can manually disable any of these or enable additional functions.

Nothing Selected: disables all runtime settings; you can enable required settings by selecting their check box.

When a user configures runtime settings, those settings are applied to the presentation for all users. However, any other users with write permissions to the presentation have the ability to change the runtime settings.

Query Context Actions

These actions are available from the right click context menu and are used to dynamically interact with the query. Limiting these items will remove the user's ability to interact with the queries in the dashboard.

Report Meta Actions

These actions are also available from the right click context menu, but they affect the underlying report, rather than the instance currently being viewed.

Runtime Menu

These actions are available from the runtime Presentation Menu.

The "Show Warnings" option will enable or disable messages around queries which have either failed or lack sufficient data to draw the currently selected visualization.

User's Last Slice Selection

This option set's all current slicers in a dashboard to 'remember' each user's last slice selection for subsequent usage. Click here to read more.