Save and Share Discoveries

In Discover, data discoveries are saved and shared using the Save dialog. They can also be shared from the item's Actions Panel.

Content sharing is based on security roles, with predefined folders that allow role-based access. From the Save and Save As dialogs, you can save your data discovery to your own private domain, without sharing it, or you can share it with users who share your security roles, or you can specify the roles with which you want to share it.

Save and Save As

To save your discovery, click Save above the canvas:

Alternatively, open the tab menu to save or save as:

If the item was already saved, you can save, save as, save and close, or save a new version:

Save or Save As Dialog

Both the Save and Save As dialogs feature the following:

Folders

The folders panel contains the folder tree; navigate through the tree to locate the folder in which you want to save your discovery.

Folder Tree

The folder tree contains 3 main folders: My Content, Workgroup Content, and Public Content. Open the relevant folder to save your discovery.

My Content

'My Content' is your own personal content folder. Private content or content that you don't want to share with others should be saved here.

Note: Admins can view content saved to your My Content folder.

Workgroup Content

The content in your 'Workgroup Content' folder is accessible to all other users who share your security roles. It is a shared domain designed to easily share content among users without the need to define content security. Content that you want to share with other users who share your security roles should be saved here.

Note: users who have access to the content saved to the Workgroup folder have full write permissions to that content.

Public Content

'Public Content' is another shared workspace like Workgroups. However, role access per folder and content item can be specifically set, providing more granular control of who can do what with the items. As a non-admin user, you can determine whom within your role groups will be able to see or change this content. Administrators, however, will be able to set this access amongst all roles in the system.

Folder Navigation

Navigate through the folder tree by:

  • Using your Mouse (mouse clicks).
  • Using the back, forward, and up arrows (green highlight below).
  • Using the search field to find the required folder (orange highlight).

The current folder or item location will be reflected in the breadcrumb trail (red arrow).

Click New Folder (yellow arrow) to add a new folder within the main folders.

View the folders and content items as a list or as tiles, by clicking the Details View icon (blue arrow) or the Tile View icon (purple arrow).

Name

In the Name field, enter the name you want to give to your discovery.

Description

Add a description, which will appear in the discovery's Actions Panel.

Tags

Content tags are automatically applied when saving content. You can remove them, add more, or create new ones.

Auto set folder roles

The Auto set folder roles option is relevant only to Public Content items. When saving items to Public Content, Pyramid automatically sets the role access to that content.

To manually define role access to the item, clear the Auto set folder roles checkbox, then click Next.

Assign Roles to Public Content

Select which roles should have which kind of permissions to the content item:

  • Read: users belonging to the selected role can open the content item but cannot edit it.
  • Write: users belonging to the selected role can open the content and they can edit it.
  • Manage: users belonging to the selected role can open and edit the content item, and they can manage permissions to the content item. Admins may assign any role to the Manage permission. Non-admins may only assign roles to which they belong to the Manage permission.